Althingi

Althingi

The Crescent and the Northern Star

Muhammad Aurangzeb Ahmad, Josh Gillingham

$7.99

  • Description
  • Author
  • Info
  • Reviews

Description

In our increasingly polarized world there is an urgent need for cross-cultural conversations, bridges of understanding between people of different beliefs, and a recommitment to a common understanding of our shared history: the history not of any one particular group but of humanity itself. Althingi: The Crescent and the Northern Star, co-edited by Muhammad Aurangzeb Ahmad (A Mosque Among the Stars, Islamicates) and Joshua Gillingham (The Gatewatch, Old Norse for Modern Times), is an anthology of historical fiction which explores the intricate and often-overlooked interactions between intrepid Viking voyagers and inquisitive emissaries from the powerful Islamic kingdoms. Featuring stories by an incredible slate of authors writing in the historical Althingi universe, Althingi: The Crescent and the Northern Star offers a glimpse into a fascinating forgotten past and will prove a must-read for fans of both Viking and Islamic history.


Author

Muhammad Aurangzeb Ahmad:
Muhammad Aurangzeb Ahmad is the Principal Research Scientist at KenSci Inc. and Affiliate Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science at University of Washington Tacoma. His previous academic appointments were at the Department of Computer Science at University of Minnesota, Center for Cognitive Science at University of Minnesota, Faculty of Engineering at Istinye University, and the Indian Institute of Technology – Kanpur. Joshua Gillingham is a Canadian author from the scenic city of Nanaimo, BC. There he enjoys life with his adventurous spouse and their two very unadventurous cats. The Gatewatch, his debut novel, was born of his unremitted fascination with Norse Myths and Icelandic Sagas. Joshua's lyrical maritime ballad The Queen of the Rose Marie was selected for the Short Story Dispenser Project hosted by Short Édition and his award-winning essay 'Becoming a Resilient Writer' has been featured on several sites for aspiring writers.|||Muhammad Aurangzeb Ahmad is the Principal Research Scientist at KenSci Inc. and Affiliate Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science at University of Washington Tacoma. His previous academic appointments were at the Department of Computer Science at University of Minnesota, Center for Cognitive Science at University of Minnesota, Faculty of Engineering at Istinye University, and the Indian Institute of Technology – Kanpur. Joshua Gillingham is a Canadian author from the scenic city of Nanaimo, BC. There he enjoys life with his adventurous spouse and their two very unadventurous cats. The Gatewatch, his debut novel, was born of his unremitted fascination with Norse Myths and Icelandic Sagas. Joshua's lyrical maritime ballad The Queen of the Rose Marie was selected for the Short Story Dispenser Project hosted by Short Édition and his award-winning essay 'Becoming a Resilient Writer' has been featured on several sites for aspiring writers.

Info

Reviews